Action Alert: Final Push to Save NJ’s Religious Exemption

The last day S2173 can be voted on is Monday, January 13th. If the democratic leadership can cobble together the 21 vote needed it can be voted on Thursday (1/9/20) or Monday (1/13/20). Here is a list of things you can do ASAP:

1. Show up in Trenton at the State House tomorrow (Thursday – 1/9/20) and Monday (1/13/20). The voting session starts at 2 pm and S2173 can be added at any time. Look for organizers with yellow hats. If you don’t get in the voting chambers join the crowd outside.

2. Call and email Governor Murphy to ask him to veto S2173 if it gets to his desk. 609-292-6000/

3. Reach out to your friends and family in these 9 districts asking them to reach out to these 9 Senators to state their opposition to S2173. You can call and email also, but it is more effective to mobilize people in these districts to contact their Senators.

James Beach District 6: (856) 429-1572 / District 6 – (Burlington and Camden)  Berlin Township, Cherry Hill, Collingswood, Gibbsboro, Haddon, Haddonfield, Hi-Nella, Maple Shade, Merchantville, Oaklyn, Pennsauken, Somerdale, Stratford, Tavistock, Voorhees

Paul Sarlo District 36: (201) 804-8118 / District 36 – (Bergen and Passaic)  Carlstadt, Cliffside Park, East Rutherford, Little Ferry, Lyndhurst, Moonachie, North Arlington, Passaic, Ridgefield, Ridgefield Park, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Teterboro, Wallington, Wood-Ridge

Vin Gopal: District 11 (732) 695-3371 / District 11 – (Monmouth)  Allenhurst, Asbury Park, Colts Neck, Deal, Eatontown, Freehold Borough, Freehold Township, Interlaken, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Neptune, Neptune Township, Ocean Township (Monmouth), Red Bank, Shrewsbury Borough, Shrewsbury Township, Tinton Falls, West Long Branch

Nilsa Cruz-Perez District 5: (856) 541-1251 / District 5 – (Camden and Gloucester)  Audubon, Audubon Park, Barrington, Bellmawr, Brooklawn, Camden, Deptford, Gloucester City, Haddon Heights, Harrison (Gloucester), Lawnside, Magnolia, Mantua, Mount Ephraim, Runnemede, Wenonah, Westville, Woodbury, Woodlynne

Sandra Cunningham District 31: (201)451-5100/ District 31 – (Hudson)  Bayonne, Jersey City

Bob Smith District 17: (732) 752-0770 / District 17 – (Middlesex and Somerset)  Franklin (Somerset), Milltown, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, Piscataway

Joseph Cryan District 20: (908) 624-0880 / District 20 – (Union)  Elizabeth, Hillside, Roselle, Union (Union)

Brain Stack District 33: (201) 721-5263 / senstack@njleg.orgDistrict 33 –(Hudson)  Hoboken, Jersey City, Union City, Weehawken

Declan O’Scanlon: District 13 (732) 444-1838 / District 13 – (Monmouth)  Aberdeen, Atlantic Highlands, Fair Haven, Hazlet, Highlands, Holmdel, Keansburg, Keyport, Little Silver, Marlboro, Middletown, Monmouth Beach, Oceanport, Rumson, Sea Bright, Union Beach